Gingerbread Men for Christmas

Lately, I’ve been so busy with school and swimming that I haven’t had a chance to do any baking. However, when I get a chance, I really enjoy it. I keep seeing posts on Instagram and online with beautifully decorated gingerbread men and gingerbread houses. Originally, I had planned to decorate a gingerbread house, but I planned to make it from scratch and that seemed a bit too complicated, so I opted for the gingerbread cookies. I used a recipe that I found on Sally’s Baking Addiction, and an icing recipe that I found in one of my mom’s old cookbooks.

The Cookies
10 Tablespoons unsalted butter, softened to room temperature
3/4 cup packed light or dark brown sugar
2/3 cup unsulphured molasses (I use Grandma’s Molasses brand)
1 large egg, at room temperature
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
3 and 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 Tablespoon ground ginger
1 Tablespoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon allspice
1/2 teaspoon ground cloves

This recipe is very simple, you simply combine your wet ingredients in one bowl, your dry in the other, and them combine them together. In the original recipe it says that the dough will come out to be very sticky. They wanted you to chill it for 3 hours-1 day. In my experience however, I only found it to be mildly sticky and I was in a rush so I only chilled it for about 90 minutes. This worked out perfectly, I used a lot of flour to roll it out though.

The Icing
1 and 1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon light corn syrup
2 – 2.5 Tablespoons room temperature water
pinch salt

I only used 2 tablespoons of water because I like my icing thicker. Usually, for my royal icing I use the Wilton Color Flow Icing and, that takes a long time to dry. I thought that this icing would be similar, I expected to have to freeze it in order for it to dry quickly. Actually, I planned to add some sprinkles after icing them all, but once I got around to it, the icing had dried! I was thoroughly impressed by this icing and the corn syrup added a nice shine to the decoration. Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

What are your favorite holiday recipes?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

