“Curing” a Cold

By: Bella Preneta
I feel like in the last couple of weeks, everyone has been sick. I like to think that I know what to do when I have a cold. However, to be completely honest, I am probably not very good at taking care of a cold. I’ve actually had the same cold on and off since November, with varying symptoms. Even so, here’s my quick list of things I like to do for a cold, whether it’s physically or for your mental well being.

Drink water// I truly believe that drinking a lot of water can make anything better. I always keep a water bottle with me, even when I’m not sick. Tea is good too, especially with a sore throat. (See below)

Put on your comfies// Although my school uniform is extremely comfortable, when I’m not feeling well, I always love to cuddle up with a big blanket, light a candle, and it makes me feel better. My favorite sweatshirt to wear these days is my Patagonia Synchilla Fleece.

Wellness formula// This one was recommended to me by my Grandma. In addition to other cold medicines, I’ve found this wellness formula to be extremely helpful. You can definitely get it at your local Whole Foods and some other pharmacies.

Chicken Noodle Soup// My mom makes a really yummy chicken noodle soup whenever I’m sick. She doesn’t follow a recipe exactly, but I think one of the best things she includes in her recipe is fresh chicken and vegetables.

Drink Tea// One of my favorite Christmas presents was my Teavana Perfect Tea Maker. I love tea, especially when I have a cold. I usually don’t like to put too much sugar in my tea, but a spoonful of honey is perfectly soothing. My favorite flavors for my Teavana have been Chai and Orange Blossom. I have to get some new flavors and I know they have good ones on the Teavana website and at David’s Tea.

SLEEP// I think one of the most important things to do when you’re sick, is to sleep. Even when I’m not sick, if I don’t get enough sleep, I always get sick the next day!

Screen Shot 2017-03-05 at 9.12.05 PM.png

Hope this was helpful, even the simple things can make you feel better!

What do you do when you have a cold?

 

 

Leave a Reply

